1. Home
  2. Configuring turboDial Features
  3. Global Options

Global Options

turboDial Account Owners have access to some configuration OwnerConfigButton
settings that adjust the operation of turboDial for all authorized Users in the account. Clicking the red pencil button in the header bar will open the configuration settings, as shown here.

These settings affect all authorized Users, and will take effect for each User the next time they launch turboDial. So if a User is currently using turboDial when a setting is changed, that User will not receive the change until they have closed turboDial and re-launched it.

The global options available to configure here are as follows:

  • Enable Add & Remove tags?
    Set this to Off if you do not want Users to have access to changing Tags in turboDial. Turning off Tags is a good practice in companies with several agents because it reduces the training required for each agent. Instead of giving agents access to Tags you can instead train your agents to set Call Outcomes and then setup Call Outcome Automation to manage the Tags.
  • Enable List Dialing?
    Set this to Off if you don’t need List Dialing features. When List Dialing is disabled you will see a Dial Pad (sometimes called the keypad or dialpad) in the bottom-right corner of turboDial.
  • Record All Outbound Calls?
    Set this to On if you want to force all outbound calls to be recorded.
    Inbound calls can also be recorded if you have the Enhanced Inbound add-on.
  • Display Control for Hangup on * ?
    This should generally be left set to Off.  In turboDial the * key can be used to disconnect the other end of a call while keeping you connected, so you can immediately begin your next call.
    However, some bluetooth headsets have been found to introduce tones into the voice path and those tones can mimic the * key and cause a call to be dropped.
    Also, some phone systems you call in to may want you to use the * key to dial an extension.
    So the option to ignore the * key is made accessible by setting this switch to On.  When this switch is On, a green * is displayed by Calling Device when the Calling Device is not “This PC”. Then when that green * is clicked to cause a red line through it the * key can no longer be used to disconnect a call.
    If you want to enable or disable the * key for disconnecting calls, you must do it before you make your call.
  • Append Notes to Person Notes?
    When set to On any notes that are manually typed into the Call Outcome section of turboDial will also be appended to the Person Notes field in the Infusionsoft Contact Record. Only the typed comments will be appended, and the rest of the information included in a turboDial Call Note will not be included in what gets appended to the Person Notes.
  • Display Contact Tasks Due?
    This item is explained in this section.
  • Include Future & Complete Tasks?
    This item is explained in this section
  • Include Notes with Task Display?
    This item is explained in this section
  • Display My Tasks & Quick-Add?
    When set to On then a new tab type is added near the Call Outcome section of turboDial as shown here:
    This tab pane displays the currently due and not yet due tasks for the logged-in user.
    In addition, a “Quick-Add Task” button is added to the Contact Information section of turboDial, as shown here:The Quick-Add Task button can be used to quickly add a new task for the current contact.
  • Restrict search to owned records?
    When set to On the results returned by the turboDial search tool will be limited to Contact Records that are owned by the User who is logged in to turboDial. When set to Off all matching Contact Records will be returned regardless of the Owner.
    This setting is often used by companies that need to restrict sales agents from accessing leads owned by other agents.
  • Add Contact on Inbound Call/SMS?
    When set to On turboDial will automatically create a new Contact Record in Infusionsoft for the following cases:
    – For an Inbound SMS message if the from phone number cannot be associated to an existing Contact Record.
    – For an Inbound Call if the turboDial account includes the Enhanced Inbound add-on and the from phone number cannot be associated to an existing Contact Record.
    When a Contact is automatically created from a call or SMS the only reliable information to include in the Contact fields is the phone number. The first name of the Contact will be set to ‘(auto-created)’.
  • Calling Device Holding Beeps?
    When set to On turboDial will play a beep every 10 seconds to a Calling Device phone that is connected but not on a call. If you prefer not to have beeps you can set this switch to Off.
  • Lookup Numbers & Mark Invalid?
    When set to On all turboDial Users will observe two button icons to the immediate right of the selected phone number in the Contact Info section of the turboDial panel: a small “trashcan” and a question mark, as shown in this image:
    When you click the question mark button turboDial will use the Twilio number lookup feature to display any known details about the number. Each lookup will be charged 6 cents by Twilio.
    When you click the trashcan button the selected phone number will be set to type=Invalid for that Contact in your Infusionsoft Account.
    Phone Numbers with type=Invalid will not be displayed in your phone number selector in turboDial.
    If you need to set a phone number back to valid open the Contact Record in Infusionsoft and modify the Phone Number Type available there.
    When using this feature you should open “CRM->Settings” in your Infusionsoft account and add a Phone Type of “Invalid” to the list of phone types.
  • Users can Update Contacts?
    When set to On all turboDial Users will observe a small “pencil” button to the far right side of the title or address information in the Contact Info section of the turboDial panel, as shown in this image:updatecontactbutton
    When you click that button a form will open with the current information for the displayed Contact. You can modify fields in the form as needed then click the “Update” button to save your changes into the Infusionsoft copy of the Contact Record.
Was this article helpful to you? Yes No